Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Cookies

Happy One Year, Buttered BlasphAmy!

Happy New Year to all! With the coming of the new year also comes the one year anniversary of Buttered BlasphAmy. Holy crap, I wasn’t exactly sure that I’d make it a year with this project. Granted, at times I slipped off for a couple (or few) weeks, but I never got too far away. I’ve actually averaged just over one post per week overall, which is a little admirable when I think of it. I know, there are plenty of bloggers out there who post daily or even more, but for a casual blogger like myself (read: not professional), I think it’s been a very respectable run. Thank you readers, old and new, for humoring me here on my little piece of the Web.

So what kind of post do I do for such a milestone? I had considered something fancy and intricate, but if you’ve been keeping up with this blog, you’d know that that is usually not my style. So I opted for something with less fanfare. Chocolate chip cookies. That’s a classic, and I can’t believe I haven’t written a post about them yet. That said, here you go: Anniversary Chocolate Chip Cookies with Butterscotch. Here’s to another year of deliciousness and om noming.

Forget the Tollhouse recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag. I am a diehard believer in Alton Brown’s Chewy Recipe. Some people prefer chocolate chunks instead of chocolate chips in their cookies, but I personally love using mini chocolate chips, and a lot of them. The thing about the minis is that they tend to hide in the batter, so while you can get a mouthful of chocolate goodness, the cookie looks painfully plain on top. That’s where the butterscotch drizzle comes in. Just melt some butterscotch chips in a bowl and drizzle it over the cookies with a fork. Then it’s ready to be stuffed into your face. Ready, set, GO!

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies | Alton Brown

Ingredients

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter
  • 2 1/4 cups bread flour
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

Heat oven to 375 degrees F.

Melt the butter in a heavy-bottom medium saucepan over low heat. Sift together the flour, salt, and baking soda and set aside.

Pour the melted butter in the mixer’s work bowl. Add the sugar and brown sugar. Cream the butter and sugars on medium speed. Add the egg, yolk, 2 tablespoons milk and vanilla extract and mix until well combined. Slowly incorporate the flour mixture until thoroughly combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Chill the dough, then scoop onto parchment-lined baking sheets, 6 cookies per sheet. Bake for 14 minutes or until golden brown, checking the cookies after 5 minutes. Rotate the baking sheet for even browning. Cool completely and store in an airtight container.

One Response

  1. […] here:  Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Cookies « Buttered BlasphAmy tags: cup-sugar, cups-bread, cups-brown, cups-semisweet, egg yolk, salt, sticks-unsalted, […]

Leave a Reply

