I *Need* a Pizza Stone

margherita2

Tomatoes, basil, mozzarella, parmesan, asiago, romano.

Okay, so a couple of things. First, JM has effectively ruined pizza for me. I’m going to have to carry a bottle of white truffle oil around in my purse all the time now… you know, “just in case.” Secondly, if you’re going to make pizza, please get a pizza stone. Please, please, with a chunk of mozzarella on top.

I wrote about my pizza dough recipe in a previous post, and while I felt like I had the dough perfect, I sometimes had issues getting it to cook properly. Sometimes my pizzas ended up a soggy mess, other times the dough rose too much in the oven. Last night I learned the secret to fixing these issues: high heat and a pizza stone. I found that I had been cooking up my pies at too low of a temperature; 425 degrees F instead of 500 degrees F.

anchovy

Anchovies and pizza. For reals.

And then there’s the pizza stone. Oh glorious pizza stone, you have been absent from my life for much too long. Position this guy on a rack in the top third of your oven, crank the oven up to 500 degrees F, and then let it preheat for a minimum of 45 minutes. The stone ensures the crust starts cooking the minute it hits the oven, thus browning it and giving it little time to rise. Result? Heavenly crisped and browned crust. Bonus tip: rub the dough with olive oil, sea salt, and ground pepper and then par-bake it for a minute or two before throwing on the toppings.

One Response

  1. holy moly that looks good. please teach me!!! O.O

    I also like anchovies toO! yummm

Leave a Reply

