Blueberry Pecan Banana Muffins

edit1

Dearest banana bread,

We’ve worn the better part of the last decade together. You have never failed me, even from day one when I had no idea what I was doing. Through the tough times I have turned to you for your simple comforts. You were always steadfast and unchanging – a rock, though your texture was anything but that. However, you have now entered a new dimension of culinary delight. You have shown me your versatility and for that I thank you.

And for you readers, you get to meet the matured version of my banana bread recipe in the form of Blueberry Pecan Banana Muffins. Walk with me, talk with me…

edit2

When I started out writing this post, I was shocked to realize just how long I’ve been baking. I’m almost “seasoned,” as it were. Scary. It’s like there’s nothing I can say about this decade-old recipe because there’s just too much to say! So this time, I’ll let the pictures do most of the talking.

edit4

The keys to this recipe: very ripe bananas, toasted pecans, and fresh blueberries.

edit3

The key to succeeding as a baker: loving what you do and the people you do it for.

Blueberry Pecan Banana Muffins | Adapted from Gourmet 1999

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 2 large)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup pecan pieces, lightly toasted
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line twelve 1/3-cup muffin cups with foil muffin liners. Combine the pecans and blueberries and sprinkle with a little bit of the flour. Toss to coat. This will keep the blueberries from sinking to the bottom of the batter when baked. Mix the rest of the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in large bowl. Mix mashed bananas, egg, melted butter, milk and vanilla in medium bowl. Stir banana mixture into dry ingredients just until blended (do not overmix).

Divide batter among prepared muffin cups, filling each about 3/4 full. Bake muffins until tops are pale golden and tester inserted into center comes out moist, but with no crumbs, about 32 minutes. Transfer muffins to rack; cool.

3 Responses

  1. […] few weeks ago, I made Banana Blueberry muffins, inspired by this recipe for Blueberry Pecan Banana muffins. Not as cool as Totoro cream puffs (amazing, right?), but still […]

  2. great recipe. followed exactly and they turned out amazing. thanks!

Leave a Reply

