Amy’s Whole Wheat Bread

edit4

I think there’s something universal about the smell of a yeasty bake bread permeating through the house. It’s a delciously comforting scent, even for me, who never grew up around baked anything. I’ve been a little obsessed with homemade bread recently because I now have a stand mixer and because store-bought sliced bread generally sucks. I love to knead bread dough actually, but my weak arms like to assert otherwise. I tend to do most the mixing in the Kitchenaid and get in a couple minutes by hand towards the end.

So wheat bread. Sounds boring right? That’s probably because you’re thinking of the cardboard squares that come in plastic bags at the store. No, no, no. Just don’t do it! Putting the effort in yourself leads to a moist and subtly sweet bread that you can chomp on plain. I searched a LOT of websites and books for just the right recipe, but none of them really fit what I was looking for. I have this “talent,” if you will, to figure out whether or not I’ll like a recipe by just looking at it. Anyway, I decided to create my own based on the basic liquid to dry ingredient ratios that I saw on other sites.

edit2

A note about wheat bread: it takes much longer to rise than white bread because of the lower gluten content. True story! When kneading this dough, you’ll find it to be quite tacky/sticky, but try to stick with it and not add too much additional flour, as that will make the bread tough. I decided to snazz up this loaf by adding in a swirl of cinnamon sugar, but as you can see in the picture, probably not enough. The cinnamon sugar I added on top of the crust before baking crisped up nicely though and was crackled and crumbly when I first cut into the loaf. Yum!

edit3

Amy’s Whole Wheat Bread

Ingredients:
1c. warm milk
2tbl. melted butter
2tbl. honey
2tbl. brown sugar
1tbl. molasses
1tsp. salt

2c. whole wheat flour
1c. all-purpose flour
1 pkg yeast

Directions:

  1. Combine first set of ingredients and second set of ingredients in separate bowls
  2. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients
  3. Knead dough 10 minutes by machine, or 15 minutes by hand
  4. Allow to rise until almost doubled
  5. Knead another 2-3 minutes
  6. Form a loaf shape, place in pan, allow to almost double
  7. Bake at 350F for 30-35 minutes
Leave a Reply

