Bonefish Grill – Savannah, GA

img_3578

Bonefish Grill is a restaurant chain that seems to be located in many major states, but not California. I didn’t know that going in. The Yelp reviews for the Savannah location were good, so I decided to give it a try, thinking it was a local institution. I guess the most I can say about Bonefish Grill is that it’s decent for a chain, but disappointing as a local restaurant. What it has going for it is the freshness of the seafood. However, negative points for smothering everything in sauce.

img_3582

We started out with the Bang Bang Shrimp for an appetizer. Lightly breaded and fried shrimp – which were delicious – covered in way too much spicy mayo sauce. This dish really could’ve been a highlight had it not been for the overload of mayo. By the end of it, the crispness of the fresh shrimp was completely masked by the heavy, creamy sauce.

img_3585

My entree was the Shrimp and Sea Scallops – in a butter lemon sauce, of course. Often times I jest about how butter makes everything better. This is only true on some cases! The sauce was so heavy on this dish, too, that I had to ask for some extra lemon wedges to cut down on the greasiness. The scallops and shrimp were grilled on a skewer before being put on the plate, so the scallops ended up being cooked perfectly, and the shrimp overcooked. What a shame!

Bonefish is one of those restaurants that has potential, but needs some work. It wasn’t all bad, though. Like I was saying, it definitely deserved recognition for the quality of the seafood. The mash potatoes that came with my dish were fantastic – garlicky and creamy and perfectly salted. The white sangria that I had with the meal was pretty standard. If I ever end up back at another Bonefish location, I’d probably try one of their special cocktails instead. I was eyeing a guava martini at first!

2 Responses

  1. hey this is alex from mexico a need talk to olivie please send me the e-mail adress

    naice restaurant

  2. I’m all set to visit the bonefish grill here in Memphis soon! I can’t wait to try the bang bang shrimp especially! They look like they go great with a cold brew!

Leave a Reply

