Pork Chops with Bell Peppers

img_3138

That’s right. This week’s post is a cooking post. “But what about buttery goodness?” you say? Don’t worry. There’s butter in the vegetables.

After a long day at work, the last thing I want to do is slave over a stove while my stomach implodes on itself like a black hole. I’m all about feeding my belly with haste so that I may bake at my own leisure afterwards.

So this particular night I ended up with two honking cuts of pork loin. A while back I discovered a trick to tenderizing and seasoning steak that I decided to apply to my pork chops.

img_3126

The basic idea to this tenderizing method is to salt the heck out of a cut so that the salt denatures the protein. Denatured protein = more tender. Just a couple notes on the matter though: 1) use a coarse salt, not table salt, unless you do want a salt lick for dinner, and 2) make sure to rinse and pat dry your meat before grilling it.

img_3127

I paired this meal with an easy bell pepper, jalapeno, onion, and garlic stir-fry because that’s what I had on hand. Roasted potatoes would’ve also been good.

I simply added some butter to the pan that the pork had cooked in, threw in the vegetables, and cooked it to my liking. I was prepping vegetables while the pork was salting, so I can safely say that I had this dinner ready to go within 40 minutes of getting home. Perfect for the work week.

img_3137

One Response

  1. Dude, I made chops a few nights ago. With caramelized onions. Not to brag, but they were the SHIT. And by shit, I mean good. Not poop. Cuz poop is gross.

Leave a Reply

