Rustic Pear Tart

img_2888

Tart, pie, galette, or whatever you want to call it, today’s theme is delicious fruit in a pastry crust.

I’ve been spoiling you guys this week with multiple posts, huh? This is what happens when the snow season finally ends and my weekends aren’t sucked up my snowboarding. 🙂 Tuesday posts will still happen regularly, but I’ll be aiming for two posts a week from now on. We’ll see how it works out! Anyway, back to the pears…

So today’s recipe is very loosely based on Food Network’s recipe for a Rustic Pear Tart. I say loosely because the only things I borrowed were the name, the list of ingredients for the pear mixture, and the cooking temps. The great thing about fruit pies, especially apple and pear, is that you don’t need a recipe to tell you how to season the fruit (and I’m all about not measuring these days). If your fruit isn’t sweet on its own, add more sugar. There’s nothing wrong with more sugar… NOTHING! Ahem, excuse me for a minute while I go take a shot of simple syrup.

Alright, antics aside, here we are then: Amy’s Rustic Pear Tart.

img_2899

Start this recipe by making a pie crust. Any pie crust! I used my usual basic pie crust recipe that I’ve had for a decade now. After 10 years of working with it, you’d think I’d have the recipe committed to memory, but I don’t. Thank you Epicurious.com for giving me a digital recipe box. People ask me if pie crust is hard to make. It’s really not! However, the main rule that you have to obey is, “Don’t overwork the crust.” If you think your crust is a touch too dry, that’s probably when it’s perfect. It will hydrate a bit as it sits in the fridge. Also, don’t worry about largish chunks of butter or shortening in the dough, because that’s where the flakiness comes from. My dough looks like this before I add the liquid:

img_2886

So anyway, while your dough is chilling in the fridge (pun intended?), start on the pears.

I took the easy route and just did a rough dice on three Bosc pears, but you can get as fancy with this part as much as you’d like. Slice them, arranged them in patterns, whatever your heart desires. Squeeze some lemon juice onto the fruit to keep it from browning. Season the pears with sugar and cinnamon to taste. I used roughly 1/2 cup of cinnamon sugar.

img_2889

Now preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. At this point, you roll out your pie crust. Because this particular recipe is “rustic,” that is really my excuse to say that you can roll your crust out into any which way and lopsided shape you want. I settled for a rough circle. Place the rolled out crust onto a baking sheet, parchment-lined preferably.

Pile the pears into the crust, leaving an inch or so of empty space all around. Fold the edges over the pears, decoratively crimping the crust. Optional.

img_2891

Brush the crust with an egg wash. Into the oven for 15 minutes on 425 degrees F, then lower the oven to 350 degrees F for another 30 to 40 minutes. Keep an eye on the crust. If it is browning too quickly, loosely cover the tart with a piece of foil and continue baking. Tart is done when the pears are tender and can be pierced by a toothpick, fork, or skewer.

Also optional, but when the tart comes out of the oven, you can also glaze the crust and the tops of the pears with some apricot jelly. Just warm up about 2 tbsp. of apricot jelly for about 20 seconds in the microwave and brush it all over. That’s how I got mine to look mouth-wateringly shiny.

Let the tart cool (or not), and then dig in!

img_2893

One Response

  1. omg. this is my favorite post so far. i love the photography too! *drools*

Leave a Reply

