Mushroom Asparagus Risotto

img_2440

It seems like risotto is surrounding my life these days. It all started with The Great Dane and her own rendition of mushroom risotto. TGD admits to having *zero* patience, yet she was able to pull off a fantastic risotto – a dish that requires a constant careful eye. I was jealous (and proud).

Then there was the marvelous tomato-based seafood risotto that I had at Acqua Pazza in San Mateo. It had shellfish and cheese and tomatoes and I’m guessing also some crack cocaine. I was enthralled.

And finally it was the mushroom asparagus risotto (prepared by an awesome person who shares my namesake) I had this past weekend in Tahoe that finally tipped me over the edge. I was obsessed.

I had to scratch the itch and learn to make it, because I could already foresee myself waking in the middle of the night in a cold sweat, with a craving for this dish and no means to get it. The creamy rice and cheese were calling to me. It was time.

The awesome thing about risotto that TGD pointed out is that it’s one of those dishes that just *seems* difficult, but really isn’t as long as you’re being attentive at the stove. I didn’t really go by any recipe for this particular dish. It’s one of the things I love about cooking; you can add or subtract ingredients as you like and still usually end up with a tasty dish. So here it is, my recipe for mushroom asparagus risotto:

img_2431

Chop up some garlic, onions, asparagus, and mushrooms. I used shiitake mushrooms here because I already had some sitting in my fridge.

img_2434

In a large saucepan, saute the veggies in some butter over medium heat, until the asparagus is cooked mostly through. The time will vary depending on the thickness of the stems. Remove the veggies from the pan and set aside.

img_2436

Add another small pat of butter and then the rice into the saucepan. Cook rice for a couple of minutes with the butter. Add about 1/2 to 1 cup of hot chicken broth. Keep stirring the rice and adding more broth to just barely cover the rice as needed. The ratio of rice to broth for risotto is usually about 1:4. If you’re cooking one cup of rice, anticipate using about four cups of chicken broth by the time you’re done.

img_2438

When the rice is cooked all the way through, stop adding broth, and throw the vegetables back into the saucepan. Stir everything together and add another pat of butter (see a trend yet?), a good helping of grated parmesan cheese, and maybe some basil to the mix. Turn off the heat and stir to let the last bit of soupiness evaporate. And that’s it! Serve and enjoy!

img_24391

One Response

  1. looks like an orgasm on a plate. Will make soon.

Leave a Reply

