Peach Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Whipped Cream

eimg_2370

The day I made these cupcakes was a day that I needed some serious comforting. I’m glad that I can find solace in baking when everything else around me seems to be dizzyingly chaotic. And the recipe that’s my ultimate comfort? Banana bread. I’ve had this particular recipe for banana bread since I was 14. It was the first thing I ever learned how to bake, and let me tell you, it is a forgiving and versatile recipe. Back before I knew how to properly measure flour, and before I knew what “creaming” butter and sugar meant, there was this recipe. I have about four other recipes for banana bread/cake in my recipe book, but I haven’t even touched any of them because I already have my tried and true standby.

The problem on this particular day was that I had no bananas.

The secret to great banana bread is to have much-too-ripe-to-eat bananas. So now I had a dilemma on my hands. Forego baking and remain stressed out for the rest of the night, or create something new out of something old. So here. I give you my adventure with peach cupcakes.

The thing that I love about my banana bread recipe is that it requires no fancy tools. Just two bowls and a fork. Or in my case, two bowls, a spatula, and a whisk. But that’s just because I like doing things the hard way. eimg_2364

The cupcakes baked up just as expected, although they were a little lacking in flavor. They tasted just fine, but there was no hint of peach in them! Maybe I can try the recipe again and add in some apricot preserves or bits of dried peach.

eimg_2367

I was now faced with a choice. What should I use as a topping for these things?! Chocolate anything would probably overwhelm the delicate flavors of the cake, so I nixed that idea. When I think of peach desserts, peach cobbler is the first thing that comes to my mind. And from there, I decided that a brown sugar type of topping would go quite nicely with the peach flavor (or lack thereof). Luckily I had a pint of heavy whipping cream sitting around, so that’s where I went with it.

eimg_2369

I think I made a good call with the brown sugar whipped cream. I think the cupcake would have been horribly boring otherwise. Ultimately I came out of the experience with something I enjoyed, and a good deal more relaxed. And the best part? I only took me an hour.

Peach Cupcakes | Recipe by Amy

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 c. All-purpose flour
  • 2/3 c. Sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • 1 c. Canned peaches, drained and blended
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 c. Unsalted butter
  • 1/4 c. Milk
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Mix together the dry ingredients into a large bowl. Mix together the wet ingredients into another bowl. Stir the wet mixture into the dry mixture just until blended. Divide batter among 12 lined cupcake cups and bake until golden and a tester inserted in the middle comes out clean, about 30 minutes.

Brown Sugar Whipped Cream | Recipe by Amy

Ingredients

  • 1 c. Heavy whipping cream
  • 1/3 c. Brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. Powdered gelatin (Optional – Used to stabilize the whipped cream)
  • 3 tbsp. Cold water (Optional)

Directions

If using, sprinkle the gelatin on the water in a small heatproof bowl. After a few minutes when the gelatin has absorbed all the water, place bowl over small saucepan of simmering water and stir until gelatin has dissolved. Continue to heat for a couple of minutes. Let cool slightly.

Using the balloon whisk attachment on your stand mixer, or using a hand mixer, whip the heavy cream and sugar in a bowl until stiff peaks form. Drizzle in the gelatin mixture and mix until incorporated.

2 Responses

  1. if only you can have all the measurements in Grams….
    i would love to try them on this side of the world. God know none of my roommates know how to make comfort foods.

  2. mmm nothing like comfort food 🙂 dah i miss baking ;__; i hope the chaos dies down soon =/

Leave a Reply

