Apples + Peanut Butter, Part Deux

eimg_1997Ah, these cupcakes. I am determined to perfect them! After having forgotten the egg last time and receiving yet another bag of apples from C, I had to make the Peanut Butter Apple Cupcakes again.

Sadly, I liked my “mistake” version so much better. The addition of the egg this time totally detracted from the peanut butter flavor. The resulting cake was more subtle, but not what I was looking for. I think from here on out, I will only use one egg in the batter – just enough to provide some structure to the batter.

The egg helped the batter to actually rise correctly this time though:eimg_1990

I made a slight variation to the buttercream frosting too. I made a much stickier caramel for the frosting by adding less water to it. Then when I beat the caramel into the frosting, instead of blending in, it swirled in. It makes for a very neat looking frosting, but it’s hard as heck to pipe. You can see the caramel swirls in the piping bag:

eimg_1992

The final verdict is that I liked my inital attempt at this cupcake much better. The peanut butter was much more intense and rich in that one. Don’t get me wrong, this cupcake was good too, but not exactly what I was going for.

eimg_1995

Leave a Reply

