Yamo – SF: Mission

img_1923

Maybe Burmese food isn’t for me. Yamo came to me through Yelp, with a 4/5 star rating, yet I wasn’t impressed. Being my first foray into Burmese food though, I’ll save my final judgement until after I’ve tried some of the other highly rated places like Burma Superstar.

So Yamo is a die-hard foodie’s dream. It’s a hole-in-the-wall place with seating at the counter for 8 people max. The kitchen is right in your face, complete with griminess and three little Asian ladies arguing with each other as they work. Almost reminds me of home…

Continue reading

Candybar – SF: Western Addition/Alamo Square

img_1894Booze + Dessert = Win?

J and I hadn’t seen each other in ages, so we decided to meet up at Candybar on Fulton @ Divisadero to catch up.

Candybar attempts to distinguish itself as a dessert bar, so naturally I walked into the place expecting some sort of confectionary marvel to hit my taste buds in the classic 70s Batman style. *Kapow, blam, zowie*!

But… I have to say, it was a little disappointing.

Continue reading